Greenhouse Buffet @ The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore.

I was initially drawn to Greenhouse for its breakfast buffet. But somehow, I ended up with their Dinner Buffet. Every Friday & Saturday features their International Seafood Buffet, while other days are Asian Buffet, like the one I had. For their full menu, click here.

Sushi Counter.

Sushi Counter.

Sashimi Counter.

Sashimi Counter.

I can vouch that their Buffet holds one of the best Japanese (specifically sushi and sashimi) Counter. A wide array of fresh sashimi and rarer species of sushi. For a person who usually tackles the seafood and meat section, I found myself being a repeat customer of this counter.

Salmon Salad.

Salmon Salad.

Smoked Duck Salad.

Smoked Duck Salad.

It soon dawned upon me that this Buffet hits me on all the unusual spots. First the Japanese cuisine, now the Salad Counter. Their Salad Counter is unique and noteworthy. I especially adore the Smoked Duck Salad. I’ve always been a fan of smoked duck, and they prepared it utterly well.

Charcuterie Counter.

Charcuterie Counter.

Though reasonably varied, the Charcuterie Counter didn’t impress me like the previous two. They had the usual, prosciutto ham, gravlax salmon, smoked salmon, chorizo and salami, and the likes. Nothing to yell about. For me, it was a touch and go here.

Seafood Counter.

Seafood Counter.

Seafood Counter.

Seafood Counter.

Tiger prawns, clams, mussels and oysters fill up the finite Seafood Counter. After sucking off the shucks of the freshest oysters in town at Tanuki, it can get hard to appreciate the rest of the oysters. Still, well, it isn’t that bad to satisfy the potential oysters craving. The tiger prawns were disappointing. I thought it was plain and dull, and not freshly prepared.

Hot Selections.

Hot Selections.

Hot Selections.

Hot Selections.

Vegetables, pre-prepared chicken, beef, fish – these are the items in the Hot Selections that I generally skip in buffets. And this was no exception. First they have to appeal to my sense of sight, then they get a chance with my taste. But there was nothing special enough to get my stomach on with them.

Carved Beef.

Carved Beef.

Singapore Chili Crab.

Singapore Chili Crab.

Seafood Omelette.

Seafood Omelette.

The Carving Station was ordinary. The beef was acceptable though not to the extent that I would go back for a third or fourth time. The Singapore Chili Crab also fell short. I thought they mellowed it down a little in terms of their spiciness to cater to more of the general public, and that the crab meat wasn’t flavored enough. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. And well, avoid getting the Seafood Omelette. It’s unexaggerated-ly flavorless.

Artisan Bread Counter.

Artisan Bread Counter.

Cheese Counter.

Cheese Counter.

I am a total fan of artisan breads in general, but it was displeasing that most of their Artisan Bread Counter had this inclination of being rubbery. Though internally soft, I had a little trouble biting it through in entirety. On the other end of the buffet line comes the Cheese Counter. The most extensive cheese counter I’ve seen in buffets. If you take a closer look, they offer at least 10 different types of cheese. So for cheese lovers, you’re in for a treat!

Dessert Counter.

Dessert Counter.

Chocolate Ice Cream.

Chocolate Ice Cream.

The Dessert Counter is pretty safe I’d say. Outstanding pieces like the Vanilla Mille Feuille and Chocolate Tarts are must-tries. Chocolate Ice Cream is also the premium type – the one you get in Marché. If I’m not mistaken, it’s mövenpick ice cream.

Juices are not inclusive, though tea and coffee can be ordered through the waitstaff.

The reason why I didn’t feel that the Buffet was worthy in general is because they only hit the smaller targets like salads, cheese, sushi and sashimi, and miss the bigger ones like carving stations and seafood counter. Thus the price paid didn’t quite meet my expecation. But if you dig the abovementioned hits, then you can give it a shot.

Prices:
Sunday – Thursday (Asian) Dinner Buffet: $68++ per adult
Friday – Saturday (International Seafood) Dinner Buffet: $82++ per adult
Monday – Saturday (International Seafood) Lunch Buffet: $58++ per adult
Sunday (Vintage) Brunch Buffet: $388++ per adult (Dome) / $168++ per adult (Moët & Chandon)
(All child’s prices are half of the above stated)

Most cards have at least a 10% discount on meals.

Address: 7 Raffles Avenue, #03-00, The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Telephone: 6434 5288
Opening Hours: 12pm – 2.30pm (Lunch Buffet); 6.30pm – 10.30pm (Dinner Buffet); 12pm – 3.30pm (Sunday Brunch Buffet)

One thought on “Greenhouse Buffet @ The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore.

Leave a comment