Coq & Balls.

Coq & Balls.

Coq & Balls.

I know what intrigued and triggered you to search this place out. I know, and I agree too. The brilliant, pun, name has been, thus far, a more than successful marketing tool. To cut the long story short, word has it that it started out some 6 – 7 years ago. A rooster (hereby termed as ‘the legend’) outlived executions stirred by the bird flu, adapted to a new environment after part of its home was taken back from the state, and lived outrageously bravely amongst human, and murderous cats alike. The legend, also known as the Coq, was said to have quite some Balls. He was the Sole Survivor; he outwitted, outplayed and outlasted. The only thing he did not do was to win a million dollar. Regardless, this Gastropub Restaurant was erected (pun-intended) in recognition of his strong presence in the neighbourhood.

Tofu in Century Egg & Sesame Sauce :: $7+

Tofu in Century Egg & Sesame Sauce :: $7+

Tofu in Century Egg & Sesame Sauce ($7+) :: Tapas, mains & drinks rule Coq & Balls. From its extensive menu of Tapas (some 20 items) comes the popular Cold Tofu. Drenched in the thick and richly flavored sauce, the tofu remains non-collapsible on the outside but broke down easily upon the initial penetration (not a good enough reason to use penetration, Fat Amy would say). The entire dish was smooth, chilled, adequately salty and comes with a good smell, which is a plus.

Brazen Beef Steak :: $24+

Brazen Beef Steak :: $24+

Brazen Beef Steak ($24+) :: I’m guessing that it is about a 200g portion. As evident from the shot, it was done to a beautiful medium-rareness, resulting in a really chewy center. We opted for herbed chili mayo to go along with the chunk of red meat, and the touch was pretty complementary. Surprisingly not overpowering the flavor of the seasoned meat. Lots of tendons, but I like it. Worth my moolah.

Pan-fried Black Pepper Beef Udon :: $13+

Pan-fried Black Pepper Beef Udon :: $13+

Pan-fried Black Pepper Beef Udon ($13+) :: If not for a recommendation, I would not have ordered this course because really, I’m not a fan of udon. I was later receptive to the taste seeing how it was prepared. Pan-frying the udon made it slightly chewy but not too much to make it all weird for a carbohydrate. Everyone needs to be warned though; this is strictly and only for hardcore black pepper eaters. When I say it’s 100% covered in black pepper (almost like soaking the noodles into a pool of black pepper glue), I mean it. Even as a pepper enthusiast, I must say they have overdone it such that really not a lot of people would be fine with it. Although I’m not complaining. I can eat pepper by itself.

Service was pretty alright; friendly and prompt. I like that it’s a wind-down environment, with English Football playing on the big screen while seeing fellow patrons standing around tables drilling after work with a bottle or two (understatement). I used The Entertainer App, that allows me a 1-for-1 Main Course Offer. So for the above two courses, I only needed to pay $24+. So, very, ultimately worth it. So no matter for a drink + tapas (so going to try its Yakitori the next time) or for a main, it’s pretty reasonable a restaurant in general.

—> Note #1: 10% Service Charge. No GST.

Photos by Kathleen.
Address: 6 Kim Tian Road
Telephone: 6276 6609 (Takes Reservation)
Opening Hours: 4pm – 12am (Mon – Fri); 10am – 12am (Sat & Sun)

Leave a comment