The Missing Pan.

The Missing Pan @ Bukit Timah.

The Missing Pan @ Bukit Timah.

This 4-month old new addition to the café family, The Missing Pan, is located just two bus stops away / 10 – 15 minutes walk away from Botanic Gardens MRT. If you are planning on a trip to the Gardens, I would say come here for a brunch first (or before). But because the space is a really small one, albeit a two-story establishment (only able to sit less than 50 in total), reservation is always recommended (you can instantly book via Chope – link at the end of the post).

Interior of The Missing Pan.

Interior of The Missing Pan.

The ground level features its bakery, and as it has an open kitchen concept, it looks like they have a cooking school going on. They have a considerable large number of chefs (probably around 10 in total). I would understand though, because pastries are made freshly everyday. The owners are the same people behind The Organic Baker, so you can be sure of their organic beliefs and thus, incorporation of the same in their food.

Menu.

Menu.

The Missing Pan’s brunch menu serves both hot and cold dishes, from eggs, toasts, sandwiches, pasta, to yoghurt, salad and muesli. They also have beer and cider if you are a person who breathes alcohol.

Caffè Latte :: $5.50++

Caffè Latte :: $5.50++

Caffè Latte ($5.50++) :: I started the meal with my usual, a cup of coffee latte. Quite an ordinary cup; sufficient to satiate a coffee craving with its intense flavours, if any, but not excessively memorable with so many challengers around.

French Toast Salpicon :: $19++

French Toast Salpicon :: $19++

French Toast Salpicon ($19++) :: The French Toast was the winner of the night for me. Other than its gigantic portion, it is packed with accompaniments both outside and inside the toast. Outside sits the sweet mixed berries, banana nuggets (akin to goreng pisang), dragonfruit and kiwi, while embedding the savoury chicken, mushroom and spinach. Steering away from the classic, it successfully stole my heart. Not only is it value-for-money, it is also an extraordinary dish, a much needed criterion in this competitive market. Rather atypical; a league of its own. Of course, you must be ready to handle both savoury and sweet at the same time before having the ability to enjoy it.

62 Degrees Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon :: $22++

62 Degrees Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon :: $22++

Smoked Salmon.

Smoked Salmon.

62 Degrees Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon ($22++) :: Interestingly, once again, it isn’t what you expect. You don’t get your usual slices of salty smoked salmon to pair with the wobbly eggs. Instead, two chunks of pinkish smoked salmon is what you get. They are done to a perfect ‘medium rareness’, very simply and lightly flavoured, and so delicate that I thought this stood out more than the poached eggs themselves. If there was a main by itself I would have no qualms ordering it. While you can be assured of a perfectly poached eggs thanks to the precise 62 degrees technology, I thought it was typical, and may be slightly pricey.

Guinness Pot Pie :: $24++

Guinness Pot Pie :: $24++

Guinness Pot Pie :: $24++

Guinness Pot Pie :: $24++

Pulled Pork Burger :: $19++

Pulled Pork Burger :: $19++

Becoming quite a common sight, the Guinness Pot Pie ($24++) has always not been my cuppa’ tea. I thought the beef stew was slightly salty and too heavy. I found myself enjoying the course more after pushing the stew aside. Of course, puff pastry is always good and in this case, even better for coping with the richness. Likewise, it isn’t me to order Pulled Pork Burger ($19++). The Missing Pan’s rendition did not change my opinion. They are the same; with this tinge of tanginess.

Banana Cinnamon Crumble :: $3++ Dark Chocolate Tart :: $7.50++

Banana Cinnamon Crumble :: $3++
Dark Chocolate Tart :: $7.50++

The items from their level 1 bakery wow-ed me. The Banana Cinnamon Crumble ($3++) was packed full of well, banana flavours, and, chunks of bananas in the crumble itself. It’s mixed with cinnamon powder, though I thought it was more or less overpowered. Still, a dessert I would still order, given its more than reasonable price. Love the texture, the firm crumbly top and crust. Similarly, the Dark Chocolate Tart ($7.50++) is something I will return for. As far as I can remember, it’s my favourite of its kind. To me, it has just the right balance of sweetness and bitterness, and while the top and bottom give a good tart-bite, the centre part of it melts in your mouth. Further, with the sparing sprinkles of salt on its top, it helps prevent any possible cloy.

Mela Con Formaggi :: $14++

Mela Con Formaggi :: $14++

Mela Con Formaggi ($14++) :: On the other hand, I wasn’t too impressed with the plated dessert. I mean, it isn’t bad. It may sound overly complex – granny smith, banana caramel sauce, chocolate soil, citrus mascarpone, parmigiano reggiano chips and homemade honeycomb – right? But because the ingredients are all bits and pieces, they are actually fine. But I’m not a fan of poached fruits, or any texture of such. Even if I were to be one, I would rather get their promising pastries (a few of them would match the price of one of this).

People have been asking me, ‘why would you pay for brunch – they are all the same, overpriced food’. I always explain it’s the ambience, mood and well, there are really more than just eggs. In this event, I can even say that you’ll get something you don’t get anywhere else – its French Toast Salpicon. I will recommend people here for its boldness in an attempt to stand out, and a successful one in my opinion. Plus, a chill ambience is always a plus.

Brunch is available on:
Tue – Fri: 9.30am – 2.30pm
Sat: 9.30am – 4pm
Sun: 9am – 6pm

Oh. Just have to mention. I LOVE their website design.

What’s worth paying for:
French Toast Salpicon.
Banana Cinnamon Crumble.
Dark Chocolate Tart.

Address: 619D Bukit Timah Road
Telephone: 6466 4377 (takes reservations)
Opening Hours: 10am – 10pm (Tue – Sun); Closed on Mondays.
This was a media session. Thank you Shasha & the FoodNews team.

2 thoughts on “The Missing Pan.

Leave a Reply

