RamenPlay.

I’ve heard a good mix of reviews of RamenPlay prior to my first visit last month, that I was properly prepared to be disappointed. To be honest, with that many ramen establishments in Singapore, it is only fair that one can be overly critical in this area.

I like to loosely categorise ramen lovers into two general classes – a group that bows down to Keisuke Tonkotsu King and Ramen Santouka, and the other that doesn’t. I belong to the latter, just so you know whether we have similar preferences in this specific area.

Chashu Shoyu Ramen :: $11.80++

Chashu Shoyu Ramen :: $11.80++

Chashu Shoyu Ramen :: $11.80++

Chashu Shoyu Ramen :: $11.80++

Chashu Shoyu Ramen ($11.80++) :: I like my ramen to be of a fairly light base, thus my usual options include shoyu (soy sauce) or shio (salt). The chicken-stocked broth was robust and my kind of heart; wholesome and sufficiently substantial. It was key for me to have a bowl that does not cloy. I have nothing to complain about its chashu. The ajitsuke tamago passed my threshold, with the presence of its flowy core. My only grievance was its noodles. Though it was already their thin noodles (default for shoyu-based ramen), it was not my preferred kind of thin noodles. I believe this is more of the yellow noodles kind of noodles than the slightly paler type. Nevertheless, for its price, I would not mind dropping by for a casual meal.
(edit: a little birdie informed that they are already looking at changing the noodles used. That is good news to me.)

Pork Yakiniku Ramen :: $14.80++

Pork Yakiniku Ramen :: $14.80++

Pork Yakiniku Ramen ($14.80++) :: Objectively, I thought this tonkotsu-based broth was rather reasonably executed too. Very porky.

While the bowls may not have been the most gastronomical or fanciful ones, given their price tags and simplicity, they are fine for me. Lately, they have new items relating to Stone Pot Rice too.

What’s worth paying for:
Chashu Shoyu Ramen.
Pork Yakiniku Ramen.

Address (in context): 311 New Upper Changi Road, #B1-09 Bedok Mall
Telephone: 6844 9441 (Takes Reservations)
Opening Hours: 11am – 10pm (Sun – Thurs); 11am – 10.30pm (Fri – Sat)

One thought on “RamenPlay.

  1. I first visited RamenPlay was at RWS… It thought it was pretty good, but have to visit them since years.. But i do agree that this place is a suitable place for a quick casual ramen dining :)

Leave a Reply

