I Am…

I Am... Cafe.

I Am… Cafe.

I am positive I Am… Cafe just popped up along North Bridge Road, just off Haji Lane, not too long ago. And being a curious glutton, I decided to drop by one day. The cafe is halal-certified. This small little cafe by the busy North Bridge Road adopts an open-concept; no air-condition, and has limited seats (around 30 – 40). While you can choose to sit anywhere, food can be ordered through the waitpersons. I was quite intrigued when I read that it’s European (Amsterdam in particular)-inspired, though I don’t really have much knowledge on the particular type of food served in Amsterdam.

Stir It Up :: $6.90+

Stir It Up :: $6.90+

Honeymooney :: $6.90+

Honeymooney :: $6.90+

Responsible Cocktails ($6.90+) :: Otherwise known as mocktails, the meal kickstarted on a very bad note. I thought the ingredients used for the mocktails were spurious, in that for instance, the supposedly very chocolatey drink that was painted out nicely on the menu, turned out to taste very syrup-based and reeked of fake chocolate. It was overly sweet, and did not in any way, satisfy my chocolate drink craving. I felt that I was cheated off my money.

Juicy Beef Burger :: $12.90+

Juicy Beef Burger :: $12.90+

Juicy Beef Burger ($12.90+) :: The burger was the only acceptable and decent-enough dish I had for the evening. It was a simple burger, nothing to scream about. A very eat-and-go kind of meal, sufficiently flavored patty + cheese, passable buns; nothing to complain about either.

Cream & Parsley Pasta (with Turkey Ham) :: $12.90+

Cream & Parsley Pasta (with Turkey Ham) :: $12.90+

Cream & Parsley Pasta (with Turkey Ham) ($12.90+) :: I’m a cream fan but not a parsley fan, and thankfully the parsley did not make a strong presence. However, what made the pasta so intolerable was the ease of being cloying. I was hungry, but got sick of the course less than halfway through. The lack of accompanying ingredients contributed to it too. Turkey ham tasted like sub-quality ones and I was greatly disappointed.

Though there was service charge (and no GST), service received was lukewarm. I don’t know if it’s just their off day, but the meal was unsatisfying to a high degree, considering we paid slightly more than $20 per person as well. The menu isn’t big, some burgers, some pastas, some pizzas. From the options, I don’t suppose I had ordered the wrong items. The cafe has nothing I would go back for really.

Address: 674 North Bridge Road, Off Haji Lane
Telephone: 6295 5509  (Takes Reservations)
Opening Hours: 11am – 11pm (Mon – Thur); 11am – 1am (Fri – Sat); 11am – 10pm (Sun)

3 thoughts on “I Am…

Leave a Reply

