Obolo Galéria.

If you’ve read my review on The Rotisserie, you’d understand how much I adore Rochester Mall. This is but one of the many reviews of restaurants housed in Rochester Mall to come. After quite a long while, I’ve finally got the chance to spend my desserts-cum-chilling hours at Obolo Galéria.

Chalkboard Menu.

Chalkboard Menu.

The dessert boutique has only 2 tables (10 seats in all) indoors, and another over 10 seats alfresco. It’s free-seating, but you will be presented with a menu. Do look at the display counter at the Cashier as well, as cross-reference. Because what you want (cakes / cupcakes / macarons) on the menu but not be available that day.

Counter of Macarons.

Counter of Macarons.

Dessert Platter :: $14.90++

Dessert Platter :: $14.90++

Dessert Platter ($14.90++) :: Since each macaron costs around $2.35++, we thought it more value for money to order the Dessert Platter instead of them individually. The Macarons (Champagne & Chocolate) were not too far off from my liking. As I like my macaron shells relatively tough, Obolo would fit the bill. Except that I thought it was slightly harder than expected. In fact, their macaron shells are one of the hardest ones I’ve had. Save for that, the ganache fillings were pretty perfect. They were not overly sweet (as many would be afraid of), and the flavors were certainly sufficient. The slice of cake, we had Noisette. A very thick-chocolate-tasting cake with huge chunks of hazelnuts. Though not the best, I was contented enough. The Mövenpick Dark Chocolate Ice Cream did not disappoint. As always, Mövenpick’s Chocolate Ice Cream is amongst the best I’ve had.

Counter of Cakes.

Counter of Cakes.

Lemon Meringue Tart :: $6.50++

Lemon Meringue Tart :: $6.50++

Lemon Meringue Tart ($6.50++) :: There was quite a variety for a small establishment. I’ve never been a fan of Lemon Meringue Tart. Let’s just say, this did not change my opinion of that. It was ordinary and safe-tasting for me.

Limone Cupcake :: $3.50++

Limone Cupcake :: $3.50++

Limone Cupcake ($3.50++) :: We decided to skip the Nutella Cupcake (that is very unusual) because we already had an overdose of chocolate. To cleanse our palate, we went with the Limone Cupcake. To my surprise, I actually quite liked it. It was slightly heated up, and the smooth and easygoing texture of the cupcake base matched with the perfected degree of lemon sourness makes it so, so easy to eat. Not too bad a comfort dessert to opt for whilst there.

Location. Hit. Ambience, well, not so much, but it can be quiet and good for a chill out night. Food, pretty much a hit. And service, I was satisfied with it as well. I have no qualms on revisiting the boutique whenever I’m in the area and need a dosage or two of sweetness. I was deliberating between three or four stars (here‘s how the rating system works), and decided to go with the latter because I concluded that I will be hanging the word ‘Obolo’ around my mouth when people ask for recommendations of dessert places.

Obolo Galéria is also available at I12 Katong.

Address (In Context): 35 Rochester Drive, Rochester Mall, #01-08
Telephone: 6570 0102
Opening Hours: 10.30am – 10.30pm (Mon – Fri); 10am – 10.30pm (Sat & Sun)

One thought on “Obolo Galéria.

Leave a Reply

