King’s Cuisine (Hong Kong).

We had a plan to have our dim sum breakfast at another restaurant, but unfortunately couldn’t locate it. We settled for The King’s Cuisine at the same building the original restaurant was supposed to be in, Hon Po Palace / B P International at Tsim Sha Tsui (near to Jordan MTR Station).

Menu.

Menu.

Menu was in a mess. There were multiple forms, menu, photos of food, brochures, chucked in a paper holder. It took us a while, trying to figure out which is the proper order form, and where to find photos / prices of the items.

Tea :: HKD5+

Tea :: HKD5+

Tea (HKD5+) :: Tea is charged reasonably at about SGD1 per person. Tea was ordinary.

Red Bean Pancakes :: HKD20+

Red Bean Pancakes :: HKD20+

Red Bean Pancakes (HKD20+) :: I first had a similar dish at Yixing Xuan Teahouse. I quite like the idea of it all, red bean paste and crispy pancakes coat. I must say both renditions are pretty close, and have their own highlights. I like that it’s served heated, and that the sweetness complements the coat of pancake very well.

Liu Sha Bao (Custard Bun) :: HKD12.80+

Liu Sha Bao (Custard Bun) :: HKD12.80+

Liu Sha Bao (Custard Bun) (HKD12.80+) :: Excited seeing Liu Sha Bao in Hong Kong, we impulsively ordered twice the portion of it (3 buns per dim sum basket), not knowing whether it’s good or not. I thought, it couldn’t be that bad, right. Boy, I was wrong. It is supposed to be liu sha bao, but nothing was ‘flowing‘. It was really the custard you can get at bakeries. Disappointing. A must-skip dish I say.

Smoked Duck Breast :: HKD12.80+

Smoked Duck Breast :: HKD12.80+

Smoked Duck Breast (HKD12.80+) :: Smoked Duck Breast is one of my favorite cold dishes. Each portion here gives 2 slices of smoked duck breast, together with mushrooms and yam. To me, all the items in the dish were bland, and funky-tasting. I didn’t like it at all. Should have guessed, with it only being about SGD2.

Roasted Pork :: HKD42+

Roasted Pork :: HKD42+

Roasted Pork (HKD42+) :: Typically served with the mustard wasabi sauce, their version of the Roasted Pork was only alright – nothing to shout about. I thought though, Crystal Jade Golden Palace‘s take on it is on the better side.

Dandan Noodles :: HKD17+

Dandan Noodles :: HKD17+

Dandan Noodles (HKD17+) :: A dish originating from Chinese Sichuan cuisine, I’d expected better. The actual dish differed from the menu, and that was saddening, because I’d wanted the thin noodles shown on the photo. I’ve never been a fan of fat yellow noodles, yucks (the reason why I hate dishes like lor mee as well). The gravy was however, a little more consoling. It wasn’t the worst, at least on the average. Not too spicy, and I quite believe that they have already toned down on the chili oil.

BBQ Pork Puff :: HKD12.80+

BBQ Pork Puff :: HKD12.80+

BBQ Pork Puff (HKD12.80+) :: This is just about the other item that is value for money and well worth it. It might look as though its crust is too thick to taste the BBQ pork, be sure that it isn’t. Its crust is crumbly enough, but not to the extend of crumbling completely even before it goes into your mouth. BBQ pork was definitely well flavored.

King’s Cuisine is the only impromptu restaurant I’ve been to whilst in Hong Kong, and sadly it fell short. That is why, being a foodie, I always plan where to head for my meals whenever I travel. People who travel according to my itinerary gets skeptical, but hey, it’s proven. I do not recommend this restaurant. There are way too many other awesome dim sum places in Hong Kong, especially. But if you, somehow, still find yourself there, hope this helps a little with ordering the right dishes.

Address: 8 Austin Road, Ground Floor, Hong Kong Scout Centre cum BP International (near Jordan MTR Station)
Telephone: +852 2736 8800
Opening Hours: 7am – 12am

Leave a Reply

